Betsy Lavinder
CEAO 2014 Teacher of the Year
Lynnmarie Fye, Runner Up
CEAO 2014 TOY Cover Photo

The Correctional Education Association of Ohio (CEAO) sponsors a Teacher of the Year Award contest annually. The winner of the contest is announced at the Fall Training Event. Individuals eligible to win the award must be CEAO members and must spend at least 51% of their time teaching in a correctional setting. Nominations were received from the Ohio Department of Youth Services and the Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Correction. During the selection process, five finalists are chosen. From the five finalists, a winner is selected.

This year the five finalists were, Lynnmarie Fye, Hope Valley School, Richland Correctional Institution; Don Baker, Shaker Valley School - Lebanon Correctional Institution; Duwayne Shoup, Country Haven Center, Mansfield Correctional Institution ; Laurel Calvert, Western Reserve School, Trumbull Correctional Institution , and Betsy Lavinder, Indian River School, Buckeye United Schools.

This year's CEAO Teacher for the Year winner was Betsy Lavinder and the Runner-up was Lynnmarie Fye. Congratulations!

Betsy Lavinder is now a finalist for the CEA Reagion III Teacher of the Year!